Above The Fold

Rio Olympic Games Hockey Fixtures Announced


2012 Olympic Bronze medalist Great Britain meet Australia’s Kookaburras on opening day

The fixtures for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games hockey were released on April 27th to coincide with 100 days to go celebrations.

Running from 6-19 August at Deodoro Olympic Park in Rio De Janiero, Brazil, the events will feature 12 women’s international hockey teams who qualified through the Hockey World League and Continental Championships.

|  August 6-19: Olympic Games, Rio de Janeiro

Up-and-coming USA will provide Australia with their second opponent two days later before a mid-tournament double header against India and then London silver medallists Argentina, which will go a long way to establishing the order of the pool as teams jostle for quarter-final places.

For the first time in an Olympic hockey competition, Quarter-Finals will be played. With no classification games taking place, only the top four teams from each pool will qualify for the knock-out stages.

The winners of the Quarter-Finals will qualify for the Semi-Finals which will determine who will play in the gold and bronze medal matches. The women’s matches are scheduled for Friday 19 August.

Reigning Hockey World League champions Argentina, who picked up the silver medals at London 2012, will look to avenge their loss to USA in the Pan American Games final last summer, with their match starting at 17:00 on Saturday 6 August.

London 2012 gold medalists and reigning World Cup champions Netherlands begin their title defense against Spain the following day while another rivalry sure to excite fans will be a rerun of the 2014 Hockey Champions Trophy Final between then winners Argentina, now ranked second in the FIH World Rankings, and Australia, ranked third, on Thursday 11 August.

Great Britain won the bronze medals in front of their home fans at the last Olympics and will include a number of athletes who were crowned European champions whilst representing England last summer. They begin their campaign against southern hemisphere rivals Australia on Saturday 6 August.

China meanwhile will be looking to reverse their 2014 Asian Games loss to rivals Korea on Friday 12 August before six women’s games conclude the pool stages of the events, including a match between 2015 Hockey World League Final runners up New Zealand and Beijing 2008 Olympic silver medallists China on Saturday 13 August.

Olympic Games Pools (world ranking in brackets):

Pool A:
Netherlands (1)
New Zealand (4)
China (5)
Germany (8)
Korea (9)
Spain (14)

Pool B:
Argentina (2)
Australia (3)
Great Britain (6)
USA (7)
Japan (10)
India (13)
Upcoming international fixtures:

May 21-24: Australia v Great Britain (3-match series) in Western Australia
May 31 – June 4: International Hockey Open, Darwin
June 17-26: Women’s Champions Trophy, London
August 6-19: Olympic Games, Rio de Janeiro



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

WiSP Sports Mission Statement 

The core values of WiSP Sports are based on the following principles to:

  • Honor women’s stories and the right to play
  • Maintain women’s dignity 
  • Protect women’s integrity in sport and society
  • Strive to achieve gender equality and fairness in all sporting endeavors
  • Empower women of all generations
  • Celebrate the achievements of women athletes in all sports

By submitting this form, you are granting: WiSP Sports, WiSP Sports, Jasper, GA, 30143, permission to email you. You may unsubscribe via the link found at the bottom of every email. (See our Email Privacy Policy (http://constantcontact.com/legal/privacy-statement) for details.) Emails are serviced by Constant Contact.

WiSP Sports, Inc. Copyright © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

To Top